Additional Awards

There are many awards sponsored by other organizations of which harpists and composers may wish to take advantage.  Please visit their websites for more information.

American Harp Foundation

The two largest and oldest of the Foundation's awards are the Anne Adams Awards and the Grandjany Memorial, which entail separate but connected major competitions held biennially.  The Foundation also houses a number of scholarship opportunities.

USA International Harp Competition

The USA International Harp Competition (USAIHC) is an independent triennial performance competition, sponsored by Indiana University’s Jacobs School of Music in Bloomington, and Lyon and Healy Harps. 

An associated opportunity is the USAIHC Ruth Inglefield Composition Contest.  The American Harp Society Prize is awarded to the winner and the new work becomes part of the Stage III required repertoire for the upcoming performance competition. 

Lyon & Healy Awards

The Lyon & Healy Awards are open to harpists of all nationalities, up to the age of 30.  The jury will select three winners who will each receive a $2,000 cash prize to further the their education, along with a $500 gift certificate to Lyon & Healy Harps.

International Harp Competition in Israel

The International Harp Contest in Israel, so closely identified with King David, was the first competition ever in the world held for this instrument. The Contest was initiated in 1959 by A.Z. Propes and is most privileged and honored to have Maestro Zubin Mehta as its Honorary President.

World Harp Competition

Presented by the Dutch Harp Festival, the international World Harp Competition is open to harpists of all ages and nationalities, and welcomes repertoire from any genre. 

The Concours Français de la Harpe

The Concours Français de la Harpe encompasses 12 repertoire divisions, and is open to harpists of all nationalities, with no age limit. Harpists can apply to multiple divisions.

AHS provides this page as a service to the harp community.  AHS is not responsible for the inclusiveness nor accuracy of the above information and/or the awards' websites, and questions should be directed to the event's host organization.  Event presenters are asked to review this page at least annually and provide any needed updates to AHS.  Please submit edits or a new listing for consideration of inclusion on this page using this form.  Please do not submit one-time events here.